The Usual Suspects: R-dog

(Look! I made a movie reference up there in the title! Hurray for knowing a pop culture reference!)

So my blog is called “Trail of Three Terriers.” I figured, in order for that to make sense, I should introduce everyone to the three terriers that are always trailing behind me…or making a trail of leaves/mud through my house. Up first is R-dog.

Name: R-dog
Age: 6.5
Favorite things: eating, sleeping, knowing what’s going on in the house, barking at cats
Breed: Cairn Terrier

I got R-dog when he was only 9 weeks old. Back then, he looked like this:

He was a tiny little thing…he weighed only 2.6 pounds!

R-dog is pretty independent. He likes to snuggle, but only when he’s in the mood. He’s a bit of a brat (or diva), and will refuse to go outside until he’s ready…which is usually about a minute after the others go out. I have a feeling that R is my alpha dog, although he tends to be pretty laid back about it. He lets Lulu run all over him, but if something’s going on or there’s a fight, he’ll be right in the middle of it. He’s been though a lot of training, and was a registered therapy dog with the Delta Society for a time. He’s still a Cairn though, so he definitely has a stubborn streak even though he’s had training.

R also loves to eat. He’s put on a bit of weight over the last few years, and a few months ago we started a new plan to help him lose weight. So far, it seems to be working. I about cried when I was at the vet last time and they said he had gained weight, but after a few attempts, the scale showed that he was down about a pound. Whew. He seems to be running and jumping easier, so fingers crossed that the next vet visit gives good more news! Oh, and for anyone that’s curious about our weight plan, the first thing I did was switch him off the SD low-fat. He was *always* hungry when he was on the SD, so I asked about food at the local family run pet store. They were very knowledgeable, and after doing my own research at dogfoodadvisor.com, I settled on California Natural Grain-Free Chicken formula. All the dogs seem to like it, they eat less and stay full longer, and has fewer ingredients that could bother tummies (R dog) or skin (Lulu). I’m also supplementing with green beans, green bean juice, water, and occasionally a bit of banana. The beans have 20 calories for a whole bunch of beans (1/2 cup? 1/4 cup? I forget), but the dogs love them. Adding the green bean juice (no salt added) or water has helped them slow down while they eat as well.

R is the one that’s been with me the longest. He snuggled with me when I had the flu, did happy dances with me when I bought my house, and has gone with me to visit my grandparents in their nursing homes. He’s a sweet dog that loves to roll over on his back to be petted, and I love him lots.

Leave a Reply

